10 Q’s with Ruth Kufman

1. Do you write every day?

It depends on where I am in the publishing process. If a new book or boxed set is about to come out, I might spend my writing time on promotion/marketing, blogging, etc. Since I self-publish, I’m not under contract, so I don’t have an editor assigning deadlines. I keep hearing that content is king, and want to keep those new releases coming.  I also have several already completed manuscripts, and getting those ready for publication takes time. I was invited to contribute to a Kindle World and have a novella releasing in September, so soon I will be writing every day to finish it.

2. Do you write with or without music?

That depends, too! Some days I like quiet, other days there’s construction in my neighborhood so I blast my medieval Pandora station. Sometimes music helps me get in the mood and focus. And sometimes I write I coffee shops so I have to endure or enjoy whatever they’re playing.

3. Word that you overuse?

very

4. Any writing rituals? Prayers?

No. I just start where I left off or with an idea.

5. What are you reading right now?

I have a bunch of books on my Kindle app and jump back and forth more than I did when reading print books.

Watching on TV?

I love TV. America’s Got Talent, The Bachelorette, The Last Ship, Shark Tank, Peaky Blinders and more.

6. Book that you read and over again.

There are many books on my keeper shelf, but I also have so many new ones I don’t reread often. I generally read historical romance novels and historical fiction.

7. Biggest challenge you face as a woman who writes.

Getting readers to understand that ebooks have value. There are so many ways to get discounted or free books that I think many readers would rather wait for a promotion than pay even $2.99 for an ebook, especially from a newer author. I’ve participated in boxed sets to help readers discover my books…but that means readers can get 4 (or more) novels for just .99. Readers in Kindle Unlimited, Amazon’s Netflix-like subscription service, can get many books for a small monthly fee. The author only gets paid a minimal amount per page read…not when readers download the book.

8. If you weren’t a writer, you’d be …

what I also am, which is a voiceover and on-camera talent. I do commercials, e-learning, films, web series and more. Info is at ruthtalks.com.

9. What inspires you?

Creativity and opportunities to be creative. I love imagination and coming up with ideas.

10. After reading  one of your novels, you hope that the readers will…

be motivated to buy it, then love it and tell others while they’re buying the next one.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR – RUTH KAUFMAN

ruth

Ruth Kaufman is an Amazon bestselling author, on-camera and voice-over talent, freelance editor and speaker with years of corporate America contract negotiation, marketing and training experience. Her motto: someday is now.

At His Command Follow Your Heart and The Bride Tournament are standalone books in her Wars of the Roses Brides series. Writing accolades include Romance Writers of America’s® 2011 Inspirational Golden Heart®winner and runner up in RT BOOK REVIEWS‘ national American Title II contest.

Ruth presents workshops on topics including self-publishing, persistence, public speaking and sales skills for the author. She served on RWA’s national board of directors and was president of Chicago-North RWA.

She earned B.A.s in Economics and Communications at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, and her J.D. and M.S. in TV/Radio from Syracuse University’s College of Law and S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications.

Credits include roles in independent films, short films, web series and local and national TV commercials, and dozens of voice-over projects from long e-learning courses to complex medical narration. She completed multi-level improvisation programs at ComedySportz, iO, and Second City. Visit www.ruthtalks.com for demos and sample projects.

For more info please visit her website:

www.ruthkaufman.com

<<MEET THE AUTHOR ON SEPT. 8>>

Women-Who-Write-Event-v1

Join us as we celebrate the publishing accomplishments of Michelle Cox, Maria  Karamitsos, Iris Waichler, Emily Paster,  and Ruth Kaufman. Evening will include refreshments, meet and greet with the authors, and panel discussion.

Leave a Reply

